Staying current or current enough

The thing with staying relevant in fashion is that even when one’s not in the mood for new trends, they’d still give into new sartorial influences at any point in their life though I could be talking about myself here. Even if I’m not always in the mood for new sartorial trends, my sartorial preferences change whenever I do encounter something new and different as to be worth trying it out personally as well as for others. It’s like that with me when it comes to hanfu, the historical clothing of the Han Chinese which is currently being revived with great success, where it’s new and interesting enough for me to not only try it out myself but also make similar garments for others.

I finally kind of nailed the way hanfu garments are made, at least some of them as well as the technique, I also want to try making other kinds of hanfu as a way to flex my sewing and patterning skills as well as have something new and different to sell with. It wouldn’t be easy trying out something new, especially if you make mistakes but having that basis with some hanfu patterns that it gets a little better the more you get used to it. I kind of mastered the art of marrying hanfu techniques to Filipiniana blouses, but if I were to move onto doing hanyuansu barong tagalog then the former would be the start of something.

I’m not there yet, given it’s hard finding a hanfu pattern and then adapting it for other things. Just as hard is finding the right fabric for it, how many yards/metres are needed for a single dress and so on. That’s the tricky thing with making new patterns and clothes, you want to do it but it’s also awkward when figuring out how to. I know this from experience when considering on making something like a yuanlingpao but that requires both a new pattern and more yards/metres of fabric to work with, similar things can be said of ku trousers and why it’s not always easy being on trend or even simply doing something new in dressmaking.

Especially when it’s going to hard and awkward doing something new at all, then comes the learning curve when it comes to making new garments. So it’s not that easy either following new trends or coming up with new trends, since the tricky part is always trying to sew a new and different garment. Always trying to come up with a new pattern, new sewing techniques, new fabrics to try out. It’s not easy doing something new because this involves a new way of doing things, trying to figure out how to do it, what to do with it and why it’s not going to be this easy either coming up with new garments or taking inspiration from something new.

Leave a comment