I don’t get the Ramones

The Ramones is an interesting band alright but I don’t get its appeal and why it gets put on a pedestal. I tried listening to its music and frankly, it sounds awful. Even if I tried to sound kinder, I still don’t get it.

 

I might as well paraphrase someone:

 

The Ramones. Now don’t get me wrong, there are certain aspects of them I really like, for example; The stripped down instrumentation at a time when musical experimentation had become ridiculous. The inspirational nods to surf rock and 60’s girl groups (added balls for penning and performing tunes inspired by them). The namesake being inspired by the Beatles. However, there is something dubious about how there are bands out there today who are infinitely more advanced both musically and lyrically who get shot down in flames by the critics, and yet for some reason, a bunch of power chords and the words ‘I dont wanna walk around with you, so why d’ya wanna walk around with me ooh ooh ooh’ was all it took for the Ramones to achieve instant immortality and a level of praise that when compared to some bands (Radiohead for example) seems rather unbalanced. I do remain convinced that had they not of spearheaded punk, they wouldn’t have been regarded as highly as they’ve subsequently been.

 

I agree.

Leave a comment